Criminal Defense

What Is The Open Container Law In Arizona?

»Posted by on Jan 16, 2018 in Criminal Defense | Comments Off on What Is The Open Container Law In Arizona?

open container law

The open container law confines where individuals can savor liquor in open. Precisely, what a public place is relies upon your state or city’s laws, and how courts have interpreted those laws. The state of Arizona has one of the toughest open container laws in the whole country. Many times, a driver or a traveler may simply have an open container of alcohol, but they may not be under the influence. This would likely not result in a DUI charge, but will probably result in an open container charge.

With summer in full swing, many people will drink at grills or by the pool. While moving from spot to spot, it’s critical to make sure to leave that half/empty container behind. According to an Arizona law, a person might be suspected of having an open container in their vehicle either as a driver or passenger, if an open container (whether it’s empty or has something in it) is available in the vehicle. If incase, the suspect is having an open holder of liquor while driving or as a traveler/passenger in a motor vehicle, he or she is blameworthy of a Class 2 crime under Arizona law. This crime conveys with it the potential burden of a fine up to $750 and a probable facility sentence of up to four months if you have already faced a DUI penalty. However, other states would only charge $50 for this offense. This is very extraordinary given the way that many people accused might not have been driving as well as affected by liquor.

Generally, there is at least one exception in every rule, and Arizona’s open container law has a special case that may keep a person from confronting an open holder charge. If in any case, the open holder is owned by a bus traveler, a limousine passenger, or a taxi passenger, he/she won’t confront an open container criminal allegation. Nonetheless, many individuals don’t know about this exemption, and may, actually, think they are by passing a law by having an open container of liquor as a passenger on a bus, in a limousine or in a taxi. Even with immunities, it is as yet necessary to comprehend what you could confront if accused of having an open container or driving under the influence (DUI).

Open container laws serve various objectives which include keeping up the personal satisfaction for group inhabitants and businesses by keeping individuals from being flushed out in the open, avoiding disruptive conduct, stabilizing cars, transport, and other vehicle mishaps prohibiting the utilization of liquor by drivers and travelers. Moreover, keeping up with federal highway development, it also promotes grants for states. Under government law, it expresses the need that open container laws lose elected transportation sponsorships.

Once you’ve been condemned of an open container violation, you’ll possibly be charged with a heavy fine. Exceptionally, if the violation occurred in Phoenix or anywhere in Maricopa County, you may be able to pay your fine online at the Maricopa County Superior Court’s website.

Author Bio:

Law Office of Christopher W. Caine provides compassionate and strong representation for Estate Planning, Probate, family and personal injury.

 

read more

Is it possible to get a DUI while riding a bicycle in California?

»Posted by on Nov 17, 2017 in Criminal Defense | Comments Off on Is it possible to get a DUI while riding a bicycle in California?

bicycle drunk driving

Cyclists are required by law to follow all the vehicle codes, rules and regulations as mandated by the state they are living in. The present law of cycling was added to the California Vehicle Code in 1985 and records the crime of cycling or bicycling while being drunk.

Cycling or bicycling under the influence (CUI) is likewise illegal in California as it is while driving under the effect of liquor or medications. Despite the fact that the punishment for a CUI is less harsh than California’s DUI penalties, a CUI is as yet a crime and will appear as a conviction. California Vehicle Code Section 21200.5 denies riding a bike while affected by liquor, drugs, or both.

The punishment for a CUI is a fine of not more than $250 and no prison time. Besides, if by any chance that you are under 21-years of age but over 13, a CUI conviction can bring about a suspension of your driver’s permit for a year, or if you do not have a license, it may delay you from receiving one for a year.

Frequently, a few hundred cyclists involved in crashes and are harmed or killed. An important aspect of the cyclists who passed away as a result of CUI had a countable blood liquor level at the time of the accident. Along these lines, many states ban cycling under the influence of alcohol. On the off chance that you are observed to be so drunk that you are a danger to yourself as well as to other people, and additionally you intrude with other individuals’ entitlement to movement, you might be accused of Penal Code 647f “Drunk in Public”.

Be that as it may, under the California Vehicle Code, a “bike” does not fall inside the meaning of a “vehicle” and isn’t possibly going to be affected by the DUI laws. More than that, the possible harm of cycling under the influence is apparently much less than the harm a man driving under the influence could be. Be that as it may, since the cyclists have almost similar rights and obligations as drivers, including cycling impaired, a cyclist ought not to bicycle with a blood alcohol level (BAC) of 0.08 or higher.

Forcing DUI punishments for somebody found cycling under the influence would be (unnecessarily extreme) harsh. So, the California Legislature passed a Vehicle Code area 21200.5 to clearly and definitely ban and properly reject cycling under the influence.

As indicated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, 630 cyclists were thrashed and 51,000 were harmed in the Unified States in 2009. Ninety-nine of those cyclist fatalities happened in California, as per Traffic Safety Facts 2009 Data: Bicyclists and Different Cyclists” U.S. Branch of Transportation, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (2009). Of those 630 fatalities, 28% of the cyclists killed had a BAC of .01 or higher and 24% had a BAC of .08 or at upper level.

Anyone facing a CUI charge in California must get in touch with a drunken driving attorney, as they would if they were involved in a DUI incident.

read more